Find us on Trip Advisor and with a Blue Banner in the Lonely Planet


 “A Relaxing Getaway!”

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 13, 2013 NEW

My wife and I have been working as missionaries for the last 29 years and have been all over Tanzania and Kenya. We had never heard of Lake Chala before some work colleagues from Moshi recommended it. What a wonderful surprise! The environment around the lake was wonderful to experience. Our original idea was to go just for some reading and birdwatching. There are over 200 different species of birds making this area their habitat- including the white phase of the African Paradise Flycatcher. However, besides the birds we enjoyed elephant watching. We spent a day and a half following a herd of elephants coming to the camp's water hole. Then they would make their way through the bush in a circuit, then back to the water hole again. How delightful! But we noticed that with the younger folks, swimming in the lake had genuine appeal. Some carried row boats and canoes down the steep bank to the lake. Guided walks can be arranged for a small fee to various areas where Mount Kilimanjaro and Lake Jipe can be seen. 

Although there were families and backpackers camping, we opted to stay in the luxury tents. The full board rate offered us as residents of Tanzania was outstanding. The luxury tents were much more than expected. The decor was African but the toilet and shower was definitely European. Each of the luxury tents has electricity, as well as a small fridge and an electric kettle. But for those who are fine with roughing it, the charge for camping is $7 pp. If a tent and bedding is required, these are available for $20 per night. The tents looked big and in very good condition.

The staff were all well-trained and attentive. Rob and Mr. Mwambo did well in caring for all the visitors there on this past holiday weekend. The food was outstanding and they make their own jams and marmalades. 

Although we enjoyed using our Swahili when dealing with the staff, we could see that the staff was very conversant in English and the foreign visitors all felt comfortable. We are looking forward to our next trip to Lake Chala Safari Camp.

Room Tip: We recommend luxury tent #1 which has a better view of both the lake and the water hole. It is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 starsValue
    • 5 of 5 starsLocation
    • 4 of 5 starsSleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 starsRooms
    • 5 of 5 starsCleanliness
    • 4 of 5 starsService
5 of 5 starsReviewed July 12, 2013

Me and some friends went camping at lake chala. I would consider this to be a more luxurious camp. We brought our own tents, but there was a bar where you could order drinks and food. A clean WC and a hot shower were also available. In the evening they lit up a huge bon fire. 

Me and my friend hiked down to the lake and took a swim, it was just amazing, clear blue water.

Visited June 2013 

 “Great little place for a weekend trip!”

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 24, 2013

Lake Chala, not so far from Moshi is a wonderful little place to visit. I'd recommend going to stay overnight there- the campsite has great facilities. We took our own tent but you can also hire one. The staff were really helpful- we took our own food (they do have their own food there) and they brought us firewood so that we were able to make a barbecue. The lake is a little trek down to get to where you can swim. I'd been warned that it was steep and dangerous but they've now put up barriers and so I felt fine and safe. The water was great and it was nice and quiet- we were the only group there. Highly recommend a trip here!

Visited May 2013

 “A golden raindrop..”

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 11, 2013

One of the most scenic, breathtaking, romantic attraction in Tanzania I must say..very little do people know about this place yet, its a privately owned place, a small crater lake, an exciting chilly view point, cottages, tenting, barbeque huts, food, 15minute trek down to the lake and swimming -- one word -- MAGNIFICO! Entrance fee Tsh.5000

Visited March 2013

 “A hidden gem”

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 7, 2013

We camped here for two nights in Dec 2011. A great place to spend a night or two. I recently heard they have built some tented bandas. They also have a facebook page - Lake Chala Safari Camp - Kilimanjaro Tanzania.

Visited December 2012

 “Welcome getaway”

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 15, 2013

Lake Chala offers a beautiful landscape for visitors looking to go a bit off the beaten path. We stayed for two nights at the campsite. The fire pit is definitely a highlight and the staff were welcoming.

As with many places, food is cooked to order and took quite a while but we expected it. We went for a few walks - around the lake and in the fields - and all provided beautiful views of the lake or savannah. 

They were building out new "luxury" campsites while we were there, so something else to look forward to for those who lean that direction.

Visited November 2012

 “Beautiful lake”

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 2, 2013

This is a beautiful lake. Lovely for a swim. The place is rather isolated but worth a stay. Gives a chance to walk into Kenya! Good camping ground on the crest of the lake. Beautiful area and a lovely LONG walk available around the lake or short one down into the lake.

Visited February 2013

 “Spectacular”

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 14, 2013

Lovely short hike with refreshing dip in the cool lake mid afternoon followed by a bask in the sun...pricelss!

Visited December 2012

What they say about us and 

               how they see us 

 “Well appointed campsite with nice views”

4 of 5 starsReviewed October 12, 2012

Lake Chala Safari camp also has a campsite for travellers. There are tents on hire but we had our own. Campsite 1 and 2 have nice, shady acacia's to pitch your tent under. There is a well stocked bar and the staff are friendly and helpful. One can tell that a lot of effort has gone into the place, knowing how much work it is to get things done in Tz. One of the staff is actually a bird guide and can help you id birds. You can order from the kitchen or ask them to light a fire for you and cook over a covered cooking area. The bathrooms are functional and clean too. I would go back here for the easy going vibe, the views and the campsite facilities. Well done Lake Chala Safari Camp team!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 starsValue
    • 5 of 5 starsLocation
    • 4 of 5 starsSleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 starsCleanliness
    • 4 of 5 starsService

 “A hidden, peaceful gem”

4 of 5 starsReviewed October 22, 2012

The campsite is located on the crater rim and there is a steep, but lovely walk down to the lake which was great for swimming - the water temp was perfect. There is also the opportunity to walk around the lake with a guide and I would definitely recommend this. 

The campsite is beautiful - surrounded by natural trees and bushes and with a stunning view of Kilimanjaro. It is probably the most peaceful place I've been to in this part of Tanzania - there was absolutely no noise pollution at all. 

I took my own tent but there are tents for hire which seem very reasonable. I liked the fact that the camping area was divided into sections - and each one was quite private, with a place for cooking and access to water. 

There is also a bar with good food service and I was pleasantly surprised by the range of food on offer, given the fact that it is an hour away from the nearest town. The breakfast was excellent.

It is obviously very popular with ex-pat groups from Moshi and I can understand why. 

The staff were very friendly and I definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 starsValue
    • 5 of 5 starsLocation
    • 5 of 5 starsSleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 starsCleanliness
    • 4 of 5 starsService

  "If you like to feel at home, at ease and surrounded by helpful and gentle people then this is the place to stay. We particularly enjoyed 'Mr. Big Smiles' attitude but also of all the other employees. Mother nature makes this place a wonderful spot. We loved the quietness of this place, the silence and the service offered. We hope it won't change, and won't ever  exploit this land and it's peoples. Baboons were excellent company! Thanks! " Gianluigi and Cristiana 

 (info@more than a drop.org) 

 Tim Leach  "Just spent one night camping at Lake Chala. Wonderful location with very well built facilities that are clean and tidy.  Friendly service and staff.  Value for money is very good. The walk down to the lake is spectacular. Easy and smooth road. Highly recommended."

 Franziska Mißler  I had another great weekend at lake chala! Thank you! 

 19.4.2012 I really loved the place - and all the people here, I had a great time - thank you all. Next time I come to TZ - this is for sure one of the places I have to come back to.  Peter Hughes - Denmark


  "An amazing weekend at Lake Chala.  Lake Chala is a crater lake on the border of Tanzania and Kenya which is hardly touched by travellers. It is absolutely stunning and supposedly the deepest crater lake in Africa but it doesn't even make the East Africa Lonely Planet guide."

Aug. 2012. Wendy wrote: "went camping for two days at Lake Chala Moshi Tanzania and had such a great time. We went looking for elephant yesterday and found them...suddenly! How can nearly 70 elephant be so hard to see until you walk right up to the tree they are cooling off under? Fortunately they were not bothered by us and we kept quiet, backed away after having a good look at the. As we are walking back to our camp Rebecca realized the elephants were following us! ooops we have to cross a dry river bed and their watering hole to get back to camp or walk about 3 miles around. We got their first, climbed up a small escarpment, found a comfy seat and watched as all of them came to have a drink and mud bath. 

Then to top it off we went to bed listening to the trumpet and then low grumble, almost a purr that they make when talking to each other. what a great sound to fall asleep to. 

Thank you God for answering ALL of our requests this weekend in such marvelous fashion!"  

“Great place to camp and enjoy the lake!!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed February 7, 2013
1
 
person found this review helpful

We love Lake Chala! Just a short (and scenic) drive from Moshi, the camp sits at the top of the lake. Surrounded by grasslands, the campsites themselves are spacious. You can bring your own tent or rent one of theirs for an extra fee. There is a bar and firepit for late night relaxing, and a large open area kitchen that guests can use. Bathrooms are clean, showers are hot. It's a short hike to get down to the lake (downhill about 25 minutes), and you pass a spot that overlooks a watering hole where we've seen a lot of baboons and elephants. Overall, we've loved the trips to Chala!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 starsValue
    • 4 of 5 starsLocation
    • 5 of 5 starsSleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 starsCleanliness
    • 5 of 5 starsService

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.